Jevon Carter selected as Senior CLASS Award Candidate

Jevon Carter selected as Senior CLASS Award Candidate

WVU Basketball

Jevon Carter selected as Senior CLASS Award Candidate

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, all are in excellent academic standing with 14 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Eight of this year’s candidates were 2016-17 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans®, and seven returned to the court this season after receiving All-America honors for their performances a year ago. Each of the candidates also volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to fields of 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit


Grayson Allen Duke Kodi Justice Arizona State
Shawn Anderson Navy Marcus Lee Cal
Braian Angola Florida State Yante Maten Georgia
Joel Berry II North Carolina Bryant McIntosh Northwestern
Trevon Bluiett Xavier Jordan McLaughlin USC
Vladimir Brodziansky TCU Luke Morrison Army
Jevon Carter West Virginia Cameron Morse Youngstown State
Gary Clark Cincinnati Albert Owens Oral Roberts
Angel Delgado Seton Hall Wesley Person Troy
Ben Emelogu II SMU Kahron Ross Lehigh
Marcus Foster Creighton Gerdarius Troutman Florida Atlantic
Rob Gray Houston Kevin Vannatta UNC Asheville
Rokas Gustys Hofstra Mitchell Wilbekin Wake Forest
A.J. Jacobson North Dakota Thomas Wilder Western Michigan
Justin Johnson Western Kentucky Jonathan Williams Gonzaga


Raigyne Louis LSU Sally McCabe Belmont
Ariel Atkins Texas Brooke McCarty Texas
Briana Betz-White Loyola Brittany McPhee Stanford
Lexie Brown Duke Sydni Means Mercer
Tyra Buss Indiana Kia Nurse UConn
Amanda Cahill Indiana Michelle Nwokedi Pennsylvania
Emily Clemens Western Illinois Vionise Pierre-Louis Oklahoma
Kylie Giebelhausen Southern Illinois Tianna Tarter East Tennessee State
Rebecca Greenwell Duke Elle Thompson South Dakota State
Delaney Hodgins Eastern Washington Rebekah VanDijk UT Arlington
Faith Ihim Oral Roberts Victoria Vivians Mississippi State
Kaylee Jensen Oklahoma State Carlie Wagner Minnesota
Jackie Kemph Saint Louis Kristy Wallace Baylor
Jordan Korinek Kent State Morgan William Mississippi State
Grace Lennox Eastern Illinois Gabby Williams UConn

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award.

*NCAA and Final Four are trademarks owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.


Press Release Courtesy: Bryan Messerly- WVU Sports Communications

Photo Credit: Kelsie LeRose, BGS


More WVUwire