Grier and Sills named to Player of the Year watch list

Grier and Sills named to Player of the Year watch list

WVU Football

Grier and Sills named to Player of the Year watch list

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (July 27, 2018) – West Virginia University football redshirt senior and Heisman Trophy Award candidate quarterback Will Grier and senior All-American wide receiver and 2017 Biletnikoff Award finalist David Sills V were named, today, to Walter Camp Football Foundation’s Player of the Year Award Watch List.

In all, 41 schools and 11 conferences (including independents) are represented on the list with

Alabama, Miami, Clemson, Ohio State and West Virginia each having two players. There are 38 offensive players (17 quarterbacks, 15 running backs and six receivers/tight ends) on the list along with 12 from the defensive side of the ball.

Grier, the 2018 Big 12 Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and a consensus preseason All-America selection, was the 2017 Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and an All-Big 12 Conference performer. He already has been named to the Maxwell Award, Davey O’Brien and Wuerffel Award Watch Lists.

In 2017, he passed for 3,490 yards and 34 touchdowns before his season ended against Texas when he sustained a season-ending hand injury in the first quarter. His 34 touchdowns were second-most in WVU history, and he threw for 300 or more yards in nine games, setting a school record. He also recorded multiple touchdowns in 10 games and set the school record for throwing five touchdowns in back-to-back games.

Sills V is the only returning Biletnikoff Award finalist from 2018. He has been named to several 2018 preseason All-America teams and was an All-American and All-Big 12 First Team selection in 2017 after finishing with 60 catches for 980 yards and tied for the nation’s lead with 18 touchdowns. He already has been named to the Maxwell Award and Biletnikoff Award Watch Lists.

The Walter Camp Watch List will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 129 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 52nd annual national awards banquet on Jan. 12, 2019, in New Haven, Connecticut.

Press Release Credit: Mike Montoro-WVU Sports Communications

Photo Credit: Jeff Ruff, BGS


More WVUwire