Konate Named to Karl Malone Award Watch List

Konate Named to Karl Malone Award Watch List

WVU Basketball

Konate Named to Karl Malone Award Watch List

Springfield, Mass. (Oct. 18, 2018) —
 The NaismithMemorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the20 watch list members for the 2019 Karl Malone PowerForward of the Year AwardNamed after Class of 2010Hall of Famer and twotime NBA Most Valuable PlayerKarl Malone, the annual honor in its fifth yearrecognizes the top power forwards in Division I menscollege basketballA national committee comprising topcollege basketball personnel determined the watch listof 20 candidates.

“We are privileged to annually present an award bearing the name of Karl Malone, a truly gifted player and an exemplary teammate, said John L. Doleva, Presidentand CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The young men on the watch list for this, and other awards in the Naismith Starting 5, should be extremely proud, and we look forward to watching them compete throughout the upcoming season.”

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due toits close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield,Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16appearance and earned AllSouthland honors in histhree seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3rebounds per game. Malone achieved great successduring his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA AllStar (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time AllNBA First Teamplayer (1989-99) and a member of the NBAs 50thAnniversary AllTime Team. He also won two Olympicgold medals (1992, 1996).

By midFebruary, the watch list of 20 players for the2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award willbe narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will bepresented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Famesselection committee The winner of the 2019 KarlMalone Award will be presented at The CollegeBasketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in LosAngeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcastinformation will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward ofthe Year Award include Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Karl Malone Award, log ontowww.hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year AwardCandidates 

Yoeli Childs


Zion Williamson


Juwan Morgan


Dedric Lawson


Dean Wade

Kansas St

Reid Travis


P.J. Washington


Jordan Murphy


Jordan Brown


Luke Maye

North Carolina

Drew McDonald

Northern Kentucky

Chris Silva

South Carolina

Mike Daum

South Dakota State

Grant Williams


Devontae Cacok


Bennie Boatwright


Simisola Shittu


Eric Paschall


Noah Dickerson


Sagaba Konate

West Virginia


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at anypoint in the 2018-19 season*


About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo “Court of Dreams.” Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit www.hoophall.com, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.

Press Release Courtesy: WVU Athletics Communications

Cover Photo Credit: Jeff Ruff, BGS


More WVUwire