Grier Among Top 15 For Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Grier Among Top 15 For Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

WVU Football

Grier Among Top 15 For Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (October 24, 2018) – West Virginia University redshirt senior quarterback and Heisman Trophy contender Will Grier was named as one of the Top 15 candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, announced today by the organization.

The Golden Arm Award® is organized by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presented by A.O. Smith.  The award has been presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation’s top college quarterback, based on accomplishments both on and off the field.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A.O. Smith ceremony will be held on Dec. 7, 2018, in Baltimore, Maryland.

In 2018, Grier, a native of Charlotte, North Carolina, has completed 137-of-192 passes (71.4 percent) for 1,919 yards and 22 touchdowns on the season. He also has found 12 different receivers, 10 of whom have caught touchdowns. Grier has recorded 14 300-yard passing performances and 15 multiple-touchdown games during his WVU career.

He is tied for No. 2 nationally in touchdown passes per game (3.7). He ranks No. 3 in passing efficiency (185.8) and yards per pass attempt (9.9), No. 5 in points responsible for per game (22.0) and completion percentage (.714), No. 6 in passing yards per game (319.8), No. 7 in passing touchdowns (22), No. 8 in points responsible for (132), No. 11 in total offense (309.8), No. 14 in completions per game (22.8), No. 19 in passing yards (1,919) and No. 20 in passing yards per completion (14.0).

Last year as a junior, he was the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and a spot on ProFootballFocus’ All-Big 12 team, after finishing with 3,490 yards and 34 touchdowns before a hand injury ended his season in the first quarter of game 11. 

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011); Marcus Mariota (University of Oregon, 2014); Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015); Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016) and the 2017 winner, Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State).

Cover Photo Credit: Shanna Rose, BGS


More WVUwire