Grier Named Maxwell Award Semifinalist

Grier Named Maxwell Award Semifinalist


Grier Named Maxwell Award Semifinalist

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (October 29, 2018) – West Virginia University redshirt senior quarterback and Heisman Trophy contender Will Grier was named as a semifinalist for the 82nd annual Maxwell Award, honoring the nation’s Collegiate Player of the Year, as announced today by Maxwell Football Club President Mark Dianno.

The list includes 20 candidates who were selected by a comprised group of the Maxwell Football Club, Pro Football Focus (PFF) and Phil Steele Publications. Grier and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray represent the Big 12 on the list.

Grier, a senior CLASS finalist, has been a two-time Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week and earned national offensive player of the week honors so far this season. He has completed 154-of-219 passes (70.3 percent) for 2,272 yards and 25 touchdowns, finding 12 different receivers, and recording 15, 300-yard passing performances and 16 multiple-touchdown games during his WVU career.

Grier is tied for No. 2 nationally in touchdown passes per game (3.7). He ranks No. 3 in passing efficiency (188.7) and yards per pass attempt (9.9), No. 5 in points responsible for per game (22.3) and completion percentage (.703), No. 6 in passing yards per game (324.6), No. 7 in passing touchdowns (25), No. 8 in points responsible for (156), No. 9 in passing yards per completion (14.8), No. 13 in total offense (315.0) and total passing yards (22.0), No. 17 in completions per game (22.0) and No. 13 in passing yards (2,272).

With Grier behind center, the Mountaineers have a 6-1 record, a 4-1 mark in the Big 12 (tied for first) and a national ranking of 12/10 in the Associated Press and the Amway Coaches Poll this season. He has guided WVU to a 12-5 record in his two-year career.

Semifinalist voting by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday Oct. 31 and will close on Nov. 18. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 19 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.

The winners of the 82nd Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show presented by Gildan which will be broadcast live on ESPN on Dec. 6, 2018. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Dinner on Friday, March 8, 2019 at the Tropicana Casino & Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey.


2018 Maxwell Award Semifinalists:


Last Name First Name Position School
Tagovailoa Tua QB Alabama
Dillon AJ RB Boston College
Etienne Travis RB Clemson
Shenault Laviska WR Colorado
McMaryion Marcus QB Fresno State
King D’Eriq QB Houston
Snell Benny RB Kentucky
Henderson Darrell RB Memphis
Higdon Karan RB Michigan
Book Ian QB Notre Dame
Haskins Dwayne QB Ohio State
Murray Kyler QB Oklahoma
Herbert Justin QB Oregon
McSorley Trace QB Penn State
Moore Rondale WR Purdue
Milton McKenzie QB UCF
Moss Zack RB Utah
Minshew Gardner QB Washington State
Grier Will QB West Virginia
Taylor Jonathan RB Wisconsin


Press Release Credit: WVU Athletics Communications

Cover Photo Credit: Kelsie LeRose, BGS


More WVUwire