Grier Named Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalist

Grier Named Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalist

WVU Football

Grier Named Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalist

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (November 7, 2018) – West Virginia University redshirt senior quarterback and Heisman Trophy contender Will Grier today has been named as a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award for the second straight year as announced by organization.

Grier, who was named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award signifying the national player of the year, has completed 182-of-261 passes for 2,618 yards and 28 touchdowns.

He is ranked No. 3 nationally in yards per attempt (10.3) and pass efficiency (184.0), No. 4 in points responsible for per game (22.0), No. 5 in passing touchdowns (28) and passing yards per game (327.3), No. 6 in points responsible for (176), No. 7 in completion percentage (.697), No. 10 in total offense, No. 11 in total passing yards (2,618), No. 12 in passing yards per completion (14.4) and No. 14 in completions per game (22.8)

The Charlotte native has thrown for 300 or more yards in 16 of his 19 games in which he has played at WVU and has thrown multiple touchdown passes 17 times.

The collection of semifinalists is comprised of four seniors, seven juniors, four sophomores and one freshman. Schools from eight conference affiliations (ACC, American, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mountain West, Pac-12 and SEC) and one FBS Independent make up the list. No league had more than two semifinalists.

The quarterbacks’ 16 teams own a combined record of 124-17 (.879) this season. In addition, 13 of their schools are currently ranked in the Top 25 of the most recent AP poll.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the best college quarterback, and is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Foundation’s national selection committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

After clearing the first round totals, the Fan Vote at will reopen today (Nov. 7) and remain open until noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 18, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback once daily per email address.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O’Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2018 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, Dec. 6.

The 42nd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 18, 2019, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2018 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists

Ian Book, Notre Dame, Jr., 6-0, 203, El Dorado Hills, Calif.

Mason Fine, North Texas, Jr., 5-11, 185, Peggs, Okla.

Ryan Finley, NC State, Sr., 6-4, 212, Phoenix. Ariz.

Jake Fromm, Georgia, So., 6-2, 220, Warner Robins, Ga.

Will Grier, West Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 223, Charlotte, N.C.

Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State, So., 6-3, 220, Potomac, Md.

Justin Herbert, Oregon, Jr., 6-6, 233, Eugene, Ore.

D’Eriq King, Houston, Jr., 5-11, 195, Manvel, Texas

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, Fr., 6-6, 215, Cartersville, Ga.

Jordan Love, Utah State, So., 6-4, 225, Bakersfield, Calif.

Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State, Sr., 6-2, 203, Dinuba, Calif.

McKenzie Milton, UCF, Jr., 5-11, 185, Kapolei, Hawaii

Gardner Minshew, Washington State, Sr., 6-2, 220, Brandon, Miss.

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, Jr., 5-10, 195, Allen, Texans

Shea Patterson, Michigan, Jr., 6-4, 205, Shreveport, La.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama, So., 6-1, 218, Ewa Beach, Hawaii

Press release credit: WVU Athletics Communications

Cover Photo Credit: Kelsie LeRose, BGS



More WVUwire