Grier Named Maxwell Award Finalist

Grier Named Maxwell Award Finalist

WVU Football

Grier Named Maxwell Award Finalist

 MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (November 19, 2018) –West Virginia University redshirt senior quarterback and Heisman Trophy contender Will Grier has been named one of three finalists for the 82nd Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, as announced today by the Maxwell Football Club.

Maxwell Award Finalists

  • Will Grier, West Virginia
  • Kyler Murray, Oklahoma
  • Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Grier has led the Mountaineers to an 8-2 (6-2 Big 12) record and a No. 12 national ranking. He has passed for 3,325 yards and 33 touchdowns and also has scored twice on the ground. He will finish his regular season this Friday when Oklahoma visits Morgantown for a top-15 Big 12 Conference clash to secure the regular-season title.

Grier also has been named a top-15 semifinalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year, a top-5 finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.

For the season, he has completed 234-of-348 passes for 3,325 yards and 33 touchdowns. The Charlotte native has thrown for 300 or more yards in 18 of his 21 games at WVU and has thrown multiple touchdown passes 19 times.

He is ranked No. 1 nationally in touchdowns passes per game (3.3), No. 3 in yards per attempt (9.6) and pass efficiency (174.2), No. 4 in passing yards per game (332.5), No. 5 in passing touchdowns (33), No. 6 in points responsible for per game (21.2), No. 7 in points responsible for (212) and total passing yards (3,325), No. 8 in total offense (325.7), No. 9 in passing yards per completion (14.2) and completions per game (23.4) and No. 13 in completion percentage (.672).

Murray has completed 70 percent of his passes, going 196-of-279 for 3,310 yards with 34 touchdowns and six interceptions. He’s also rushed for 739 yards and 10 touchdowns while leading the Sooners to a 10-1 record and a No. 6 national ranking.

Tagovailoa has led the No. 1-ranked Crimson Tide to an 11-0 (7-0 SEC) record and an SEC West division championship this fall. He has passed for 2,865 yards and 31 touchdowns, with two interceptions. He added four rushing touchdowns and has a quarterback rating of 212.22. He will lead the Tide against Auburn in the Iron Bowl on Saturday.

The winners of the 82nd Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 6, 2018. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Gala which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey on Friday, March 8, 2019.

Voting for the Maxwell Award presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday, November 21st and close on Sunday December 2nd. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

Photo Credit: Kelsie LeRose, BGS

Press Release Credit: WVU Athletics Communications


More WVUwire